Department of English
Faculty Profile
The English Department of Seva Bharati Mahavidyalaya started its glorious voyage from the academic session 2003-2004. The main architect of the department is Dr. Jaydeep Sarangi, an indefatigable spirit and a versatile genius - a bilingual writer, editor, critic, translator, academic administrator and the author of a number of significant publications. He is presently working as Associate Professor in English at Jogesh Chandra Chaudhuri College, Calcutta University. Dr. Tirthankar Das Purokayastha, the then HOD, Department of English, Vidyasagar University, graced the occasion of inauguration of the department. The task of teaching English literature was a mammoth and challenging one in this rural part of Bengal which is mainly inhabited by the tribal and other backward classes of people. Dr. Sarangi was well-supported and guided by another experienced and qualified faculty member, Prof. Dr. Haripada Bera. Over the years, the English department has been emerging as one of the strongest departments of the college. In 2010 Dr. Jaydeep Sarangi left the college to join as an Associate Professor at Jogesh Chandra Chaudhuri College and in the same year Mr. Samit Kumar Maiti joined the post of Assistant Professor in the department. Lately, the department enjoys a commendable bonhomie with the other departments. Moreover, there exists a homely atmosphere and intimate relationship between teachers and students. In 2006 the department organized a National Seminar on “Australian Literature: Identity, Representation & Belonging.” Dr. Sarangi regularly published a peer-reviewed international journal named Seva Bharati Journal of English Studies. The department now regularly publishes a magazine Pearl and a wall magazine Utopia to showcase the talent and literary activities of the departmental students. Eminent personalities like Prof. Dr. Sankar Prasad Sinha, Dr. Gautam Buddha Sural, Dr. Indranil Acharya, Dr. Joyjit Ghosh and many more have visited the department.
1 Prof. Samit Kumar Maiti M.A., B.Ed., SET, NET Assistant Professor & HOD
2 Mr. Lakshikanta Chatterjee M.A. Govt.-Approved Part-Time Teacher
3 Mr. Subhankar Acharya M.A. Guest Teacher
4 Mr. Tanmoy Sarkar M.A., B.Ed. Guest Teacher